Have a question?
Search the Library Catalog
All Items by Source

Reference Materials

Global Road Warrior Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Global Road Warrior provides detailed cultural, social, political, and business information and statistics for countries worldwide.
BBC News Country Insights
Profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.

Government Information

CIA World Factbook Some full text available Resource contains images
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports Some full text available
CRS reports are regularly produced to anticipate and respond to issues of interest to Congress. They provide timely, objective, and authoritative research and analysis on a wide range of policy topics covering subjects including foreign affairs, defense & intelligence, health care, energy & natural resources, commerce & the economy, social welfare & housing, and justice & law enforcement.
Global Affairs Canada: Country Insights
Cultural information on countries from around the world relayed in a question and answer format with answers from both a Canadian and local (i.e. from the country of interest) perspective.

Websites

Culture Crossing Guide
Provides cultural information like communication style, personal space, eye contact, views of time, and more for a number of countries around the world.
globalEDGE Global Insights Some full text available
Provides international business and trade information on over 200 countries, the 50 U.S. states, as well as nearly two dozen industry sectors, and many of the world’s trade blocs.
Kwintessential International Etiquette Guides
Etiquette, Customs and Protocol Guides for over 60 countries; strongest coverage for Europe.