Denominations Research (Theology)

Encyclopedia of Religious Practices, Volume 1: Religions and Denominations  REF BL80.3 W67 2006 v. 1

• Discusses denominations broadly (e.g. "Pentecostalism", "Reformed Christianity")

Encyclopedia of Religion in America  REF BL2520 .E52 2010

• Includes some information about nondenominational churches in volume 2

Handbook of Denominations in the United States  REF BL2525 .M425 2018

• Arranged in groupings by type of church, so consult the Alphabetical Table of Contents for Religious Groups on page 1 if you're not finding your denomination

Encyclopedia of Christianity in the United States  REF BR515 .E52 2016

• Includes brief information about nondenominational churches

Encyclopedia of Protestantism  REF BX4811.3 .E53 2004

Tip: When copying or scanning from a reference work, make sure to take notes on the publication information (publisher, location, year) or scan/copy the title page so you can cite it as a source.

A helpful overview of certain major denominations and their practices can be found in

• How to be a perfect stranger : the essential religious etiquette handbook  BJ2010 .H68 2011

The BX section has books about the various denominations/traditions, for example:

• Christian Reformed Church starts at BX6800
• Reformed Church in America starts at BX9500
• Baptist starts at BX6200 (can depend on the type of Baptist)
• Roman Catholic starts at BX800
• Orthodox Church starts at BX200
• Pentecostal starts at BX8762

Exception: Evangelicalism starts at BR1640