Call 708-293-4925
Email library@trnty.edu
or Make an appointment
Library homepage
Open Access (OA): Free online resources without cost or access barriers, like articles and textbooks from organizations such as MIT OpenCourseWare and Khan Academy.
Open Educational Resources (OER): Free-to-use and repurpose teaching and research materials, including textbooks from OpenStax and resources from LibreTexts.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies 
This bibliographic database is today's source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.
This bibliographic database is today's source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.
Ethnic Diversity Source
This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 is a free archive of indexed publications related to the Americas and written in Europe before 1750. It includes thousands of valuable primary source records covering the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 is a free archive of indexed publications related to the Americas and written in Europe before 1750. It includes thousands of valuable primary source records covering the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. And you can connect to the library for full text links to show up right there in Google!
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. And you can connect to the library for full text links to show up right there in Google!
Humanities Source Ultimate
Humanities Source Ultimate presents a rich collection of 1,787 active full-text humanities journals, surpassing any other database of its kind in terms of peer-reviewed content. It encompasses all aspects of the humanities.
Humanities Source Ultimate presents a rich collection of 1,787 active full-text humanities journals, surpassing any other database of its kind in terms of peer-reviewed content. It encompasses all aspects of the humanities.
Left Index
The Left Index is a bibliographic database covering the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and cultural scholarship inside and outside academia. It includes hundreds of thousands of citations and abstracts and covers historically significant left publications.
The Left Index is a bibliographic database covering the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and cultural scholarship inside and outside academia. It includes hundreds of thousands of citations and abstracts and covers historically significant left publications.
LGBTQ+ Source
LGBTQ+ Source is the definitive database for LGBTQ+ studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines, newspapers and videos. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
LGBTQ+ Source is the definitive database for LGBTQ+ studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines, newspapers and videos. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Oxford Academic
Full-text ebooks and articles published by university presses on a wide variety of subjects, including history, political science, sociology, and literature. Hosted by Oxford University Press.
Full-text ebooks and articles published by university presses on a wide variety of subjects, including history, political science, sociology, and literature. Hosted by Oxford University Press.
Women's Studies International
Women’s Studies International is a bibliographic database for women’s studies and feminist research. Providing indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications, it is a valuable resource for many disciplines, including sociology, history, international relations and humanities.
Women’s Studies International is a bibliographic database for women’s studies and feminist research. Providing indexing and abstracts for hundreds of publications, it is a valuable resource for many disciplines, including sociology, history, international relations and humanities.
HeinOnline
Covers an array of information including law, treaties, and U.S. government publications.
Covers an array of information including law, treaties, and U.S. government publications.
JSTOR
An electronic repository of full-text journals in a variety of disciplines, JSTOR includes the full text of journals starting from the origin of their publication, but often does not have the most recent 2-5 years.
An electronic repository of full-text journals in a variety of disciplines, JSTOR includes the full text of journals starting from the origin of their publication, but often does not have the most recent 2-5 years.
Academic Search Complete
Index and full text of magazines, newspapers, reports, conference proceedings, and scholarly journals in a wide variety of disciplines.
Index and full text of magazines, newspapers, reports, conference proceedings, and scholarly journals in a wide variety of disciplines.
AAS Historical Periodicals
Search nearly 8,000 full text historical magazines, newspapers, and journals in this collection from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS).
Dates covered: 1684-1912.
Search nearly 8,000 full text historical magazines, newspapers, and journals in this collection from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS).
Dates covered: 1684-1912.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers 
Chronicling America provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.
Dates currently covered: 1836-1922
Chronicling America provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.
Dates currently covered: 1836-1922
American Decades
Print Location: REF E169.12 .A419 1994
Documents and analyzes decades of contemporary American social history (including news, fashion, religion, politics, etc.), covering 1900-2009.
Print Location: REF E169.12 .A419 1994
Documents and analyzes decades of contemporary American social history (including news, fashion, religion, politics, etc.), covering 1900-2009.
Credo Reference 
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text general and subject-specific reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Colonial America : an encyclopedia of social, political, cultural, and economic history
Print Location: REF E162 .C68 2006
Seven opening essays provide an overview of major issues and the more than 450 signed, alphabetical entries that follow. The articles cover places, events, institutions, ideas, women, and minority peoples. Includes chronologies, which are arranged by theme (Gender Issues, Science and Technology) and geographically by colony.
Print Location: REF E162 .C68 2006
Seven opening essays provide an overview of major issues and the more than 450 signed, alphabetical entries that follow. The articles cover places, events, institutions, ideas, women, and minority peoples. Includes chronologies, which are arranged by theme (Gender Issues, Science and Technology) and geographically by colony.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895
Print Location: REF E185 .E545 2006
The Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 documents the full range of the African American experience during that period - from the arrival of the first slave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass - and shows how all aspects of American culture, history, and national identity have been profoundly influenced by the experience of African Americans.
Print Location: REF E185 .E545 2006
The Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 documents the full range of the African American experience during that period - from the arrival of the first slave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass - and shows how all aspects of American culture, history, and national identity have been profoundly influenced by the experience of African Americans.
African-American Archive : the history of the Black experience in documents
Print Location: REF E184.6 .A33 2001
Featuring letters, articles, pamphlets and papers of all kinds, every important document is here-the Emancipation Proclamation, the Brown vs. Board of Education decision, Martin Luther King, Jr.'s "I have a dream" speech and-along with scores of enlightening personal documents-harrowing accounts from slaves who suffered the passage from Africa, letters from black soldiers in the Civil War, journal entries from civil rights workers in the '60s and Louis Farrakhan's speech at the 1995 Million Man March. Arranged chronologically.
Print Location: REF E184.6 .A33 2001
Featuring letters, articles, pamphlets and papers of all kinds, every important document is here-the Emancipation Proclamation, the Brown vs. Board of Education decision, Martin Luther King, Jr.'s "I have a dream" speech and-along with scores of enlightening personal documents-harrowing accounts from slaves who suffered the passage from Africa, letters from black soldiers in the Civil War, journal entries from civil rights workers in the '60s and Louis Farrakhan's speech at the 1995 Million Man March. Arranged chronologically.
Illinois Digital Heritage Hub
The Illinois Digital Heritage Hub brings together unique digital cultural heritage resources from across Illinois. Explore collections immense in volume and rich in historical detail, including photographs, manuscripts, books, audio recordings, and videos.
The Illinois Digital Heritage Hub brings together unique digital cultural heritage resources from across Illinois. Explore collections immense in volume and rich in historical detail, including photographs, manuscripts, books, audio recordings, and videos.
American Decades Primary Sources
Print Location: REF E169.12 .A472
Contains over 2,000 primary sources on 20th-century American history and culture, featuring 75 different types of sources arranged chronologically in twelve categories, including the arts, education, government and politics, media, medicine and health, religion, and sports.
Print Location: REF E169.12 .A472
Contains over 2,000 primary sources on 20th-century American history and culture, featuring 75 different types of sources arranged chronologically in twelve categories, including the arts, education, government and politics, media, medicine and health, religion, and sports.
Annals of America
Print Location: REF E173 .A793
Contains primary source documents from 1493 to 1986.
Print Location: REF E173 .A793
Contains primary source documents from 1493 to 1986.
Black Thought and Culture
Black Thought and Culture is a landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders--teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures--covering 250 years of history.
Black Thought and Culture is a landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders--teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures--covering 250 years of history.
Chronicling Illinois
Chronicling Illinois showcases collections and items from the vast Illinois history holdings of the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library.
Chronicling Illinois showcases collections and items from the vast Illinois history holdings of the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Access LoC's online collections to view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.
Access LoC's online collections to view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.
Uncovering Chicago Archives Project
Provides open public access to online finding aids for hundreds of archival collections documenting a wide range of topics, time periods, and geographical areas. Researchers can find primary archival sources on African American history and culture, theater, jazz, urban sociology, journalism, Native Americans, modern poetry, anthropology, African studies, literature, criminology and legal studies, art and photography, medical history, and the Manhattan Project, among many other subjects.
Provides open public access to online finding aids for hundreds of archival collections documenting a wide range of topics, time periods, and geographical areas. Researchers can find primary archival sources on African American history and culture, theater, jazz, urban sociology, journalism, Native Americans, modern poetry, anthropology, African studies, literature, criminology and legal studies, art and photography, medical history, and the Manhattan Project, among many other subjects.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 brings together primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, Web site reviews, and teaching tools, all documenting the multiplicity of women’s activism in public life.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 brings together primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, Web site reviews, and teaching tools, all documenting the multiplicity of women’s activism in public life.
Historical Census of Agriculture Publications
Provides links to all historical agricultural census information from 1840 to 2012.
Provides links to all historical agricultural census information from 1840 to 2012.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Historical Statistics of the United States presents the numerical history of the United States including: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present.
Historical Statistics of the United States presents the numerical history of the United States including: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States
Statistical Abstract data ranges from 1878 to 2012. Some retrospective data goes back to the late 1700s. Includes information on population, employment, elections, migration, income, and business.
Statistical Abstract data ranges from 1878 to 2012. Some retrospective data goes back to the late 1700s. Includes information on population, employment, elections, migration, income, and business.