Have a question?
Search the Library Catalog
All Items by Source

Databases

Explora Educator's Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
The teacher's complement to Explora, this database offers educator tools like lesson planning materials and curriculum standards in addition to articles, books, and reports on a variety of topics.
MAS Ultra Restricted Resource Some full text available
Designed specifically for high school students, this resource includes articles from popular periodicals, reference books, charts, graphs, maps, and photos. Useful for curriculum planning for secondary education majors

Magazines & Newspapers

Explora Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
Easy-to-use search tool for student use in finding articles, images and video on a wide range of topics. Results include Lexile score where applicable.
Primary Search Some full text available
Index and full-text magazines for elementary schoolers. Includes reading level indicators (Lexile numbers).

Guidelines/Standards

Adapted Physical Education National Standards: 15 Standards of Specialized Knowledge
The purpose of the Adapted Physical Education National Standards project was to ensure that physical education for children with disabilities be delivered by a qualified Adapted Physical Educator. In order to meet this purpose a set of 15 national standards representing the content a qualified Adapted Physical Educator must know to do their job was developed.
Benchmarks for Science Literacy Some full text available
Benchmarks for science education compiled by the American Association for the Advancement of Science.
Illinois Learning Standards
The Illinois Learning Standards (ILS) define what all students in all Illinois public schools should know and be able to do in each subject at each grade.
Indiana Academic Standards and Resources
These standards "have been validated as college and career ready by the Indiana Education Roundtable, the Indiana Commission for Higher Education, the Indiana Department of Education, the Indiana State Board of Education, and the Indiana Center for Education and Career Innovation. This means that students who successfully master these objectives for what they should know and be able to do in Math and English/Language Arts disciplines by the time they graduate from high school will be ready to go directly into the workplace or a postsecondary educational opportunity without the need of remediation."
Principles and Standards for School Mathematics
The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM) standards website.  Some material available exclusively to NCTM members.

Primary Sources

Primary Source Sets--Digital Public Library of America Some full text available
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Primary Source Sets are designed to help students develop critical thinking skills by exploring topics in history, literature, and culture through primary sources. Drawing online materials from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States, the sets use letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more. Each set includes a topic overview, ten to fifteen primary sources, links to related resources, and a teaching guide.

Websites

Common Core Resources
A collection of linked resources on common core from the Center for the Advancement and Support of Educational Initiatives at Illinois State University. Includes comparison of 1997 Illinois standards to Common Core standards, lesson planning sites, rubrics, and math, science, and music resources.
Read Write Think Some full text available
This website is a partnership between the International Reading Association (IRA), the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE), and the Verizon Foundation. It contains free lesson plans and curriculum materials.
Scholastic Lesson Plans Some full text available
Free lesson plans provided by Scholastic book publishers.