Have a question?
All Items by Source

Statistics

County Health Rankings & Roadmaps
The annual Rankings provide a revealing snapshot of how health is influenced by where we live, learn, work and play. They provide a starting point for change in communities.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
The Archive's mission is to facilitate research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources; through the production of original research based on archived data; and through specialized training workshops in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data.
National Center for Charitable Statistics
NCCS is the national clearinghouse of data on the nonprofit sector in the United States, and is a project of the Center on Nonprofits and Philanthropy at the Urban Institute.
Pew Research Center: Religion & Public Life
Seeks to promote a deeper understanding of issues at the intersection of religion and public affairs. The project conducts surveys, demographic studies and other social science research to examine a wide range of issues concerning religion and society in the United States and around the world – from shifting religious composition to the influence of religion on politics to the extent of government and social restrictions on religion. The project also covers a range of issues that often have a religious component – from abortion and gay marriage to stem cell research and church-state controversies.
Police Killings Database
Data on people killed by police in the U.S., compiled by the Washington Post.
WHO Mental Health Atlas
Mental Health Atlas Project of the Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse at the World Health Organization (WHO) is designed to collect, compile and disseminate data on mental health resources in the world. Resources include mental health policies, plans, financing, care delivery, human resources, medicines, and information systems.

Government Information

Bureau of Economic Analysis Some full text available
Part of the U.S. Department of Commerce, the Bureau of Economic Analysis compiles data about a variety of economic topics at the national, international, regional, and industry levels.
Bureau of Justice Statistics Some full text available
The Burea of Justice Statistics collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
Bureau of Justice Statistics Prisoner Recidivisim Analysis Tool Some full text available
This dynamic data analysis tool allows you to calculate recidivism rates of persons released from state prisons in 2005. The tool defines recidivism as an arrest for a new crime following release. You may generate recidivism rates for the entire sample of released prisoners or customize your search to view rates of released prisoners with specific demographic, criminal history, and sentence attributes. The tool uses data collected by BJS on a sample of persons released from state prisons in 30 states in 2005 and followed for a 5-year period.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
CDC - Data & Statistics
Statistics compiled by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Census.gov
The census bureau website contains the economic census, demographic data, economic indicators, and more.
Census.gov: Business & Industry
Economic and industry data compiled by the U.S. Census Bureau from numerous government surveys and reports. Potentially useful reports include the Industry Snapshots, County Business Patterns, and Census Business Builder: Regional Analyst Edition.
Data USA
Data USA is a website and visualization engine for public US Government data. Through data analytics and visualization, it tells stories about: places in America--towns, cities and states; occupations, from teachers to welders to web developers; industries--where they are thriving, where they are declining and their interconnectedness to each other; and education and skills, from where is the best place to live if you’re a computer science major to the key skills needed to be an accountant.
Historical Census of Agriculture Publications Some full text available
Provides links to all historical agricultural census information from 1840 to 2012.
Historical Statistics of the United States Some full text available
Historical Statistics of the United States presents the numerical history of the United States including:  population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. NCES issues numerous publications and datasets each year. These include: early releases, issue briefs, statistical reports, directories, and handbooks of standard terminology. Many publications report the findings of specific surveys, but at least three--Digest of Education Statistics, Projections of Education Statistics, and The Condition of Education--cover the field of education statistics from a broad perspective.
National Center for Health Statistics
The National Center for Health Statistics, part of the CDC, is the principal health statistics agency for the U.S. They conduct studies and compile statistics on a variety of topics related to public health, including: diseases and conditions, injuries, life stages and populations, and health care and insurance.
National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics
The National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (NCSES) is the nation's leading provider of statistical data on the U.S. science and engineering enterprise. Their website includes data on research and development, the science and engineering workforce, the condition and progress of STEM education, and U.S. competitiveness in science, engineering, technology, and R&D.
National Institute of Mental Health Statistics
Understanding the scope of mental health problems and treatment in the United States is central to NIMH’s mission. This resource represents an extensive collection of their best statistics on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders.
Office of Entrepreneurship Education Resources, U.S. Small Business Administration
Whether you are a new business owner or a seasoned professional, a solid understanding your target market and current economic conditions is key to your business' growth and success. Here you will find a collection of resources providing free access to business and economic statistics collected by the U.S. Government.
SAMHSA Data
The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) provides data about substance abuse, mental illness, and health economics.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States
Statistical Abstract data ranges from 1878 to 2012. Some retrospective data goes back to the late 1700s. Includes information on population, employment, elections, migration, income, and business.
U.S. Census Data
Interactive, searchable database for population, housing, industry and business statistics from the U.S. Census.

Websites

ARDA: Association of Religion Data Archives Some full text available
"The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion."