Call 708-293-4925
Email library@trnty.edu
or Make an appointment
Library homepage
Bibliography of the History of Art
The Getty Research Institute provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) for no charge. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.
note: Full text is not available from this site. Ask a librarian if you need to obtain a copy of something you find in this resource.
The Getty Research Institute provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) for no charge. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.
note: Full text is not available from this site. Ask a librarian if you need to obtain a copy of something you find in this resource.
MasterFILE 
A general, interdisciplinary database that contains an index and full-text for periodicals, primary source documents, and ebooks. Periodicals coverage is from 1975 to the present.
A general, interdisciplinary database that contains an index and full-text for periodicals, primary source documents, and ebooks. Periodicals coverage is from 1975 to the present.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. And you can connect to the library for full text links to show up right there in Google!
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. And you can connect to the library for full text links to show up right there in Google!
Oxford Academic
Full-text ebooks and articles published by university presses on a wide variety of subjects, including history, political science, sociology, and literature. Hosted by Oxford University Press.
Full-text ebooks and articles published by university presses on a wide variety of subjects, including history, political science, sociology, and literature. Hosted by Oxford University Press.
Academic Search Complete
Index and full text of magazines, newspapers, reports, conference proceedings, and scholarly journals in a wide variety of disciplines.
Index and full text of magazines, newspapers, reports, conference proceedings, and scholarly journals in a wide variety of disciplines.
JSTOR
An electronic repository of full-text journals in a variety of disciplines, JSTOR includes the full text of journals starting from the origin of their publication, but often does not have the most recent 2-5 years.
An electronic repository of full-text journals in a variety of disciplines, JSTOR includes the full text of journals starting from the origin of their publication, but often does not have the most recent 2-5 years.
Find a Publication
Search for a journal, magazine, or other periodical by its exact title, the beginning words of the title, or words within the title. You can also browse by Category for journals in your field of interest.
Search for a journal, magazine, or other periodical by its exact title, the beginning words of the title, or words within the title. You can also browse by Category for journals in your field of interest.
Dictionary of Art
Print Location: REF N31 .D5 1996
This 34 volume work is the definitive reference guide to art history, and contains detailed entries by over 6000 renowned art experts. Each entry includes a bibliography for further reading.
Print Location: REF N31 .D5 1996
This 34 volume work is the definitive reference guide to art history, and contains detailed entries by over 6000 renowned art experts. Each entry includes a bibliography for further reading.
Encyclopedia of World Art
Print Location: REF N31 .E533
This classic 17-volume encyclopedia covers virtually every topic in art, art history, and architecture. Each volume includes many plate illustrations in addition to the textual entries.
Print Location: REF N31 .E533
This classic 17-volume encyclopedia covers virtually every topic in art, art history, and architecture. Each volume includes many plate illustrations in addition to the textual entries.
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
Print Location: BH56 .E53 1998
Includes more than six hundred essays, alphabetically arranged, on approximately four hundred individuals, concepts, periods, theories, issues, and movements in the history of aesthetics. Each entry includes a bibliography for further reading.
Print Location: BH56 .E53 1998
Includes more than six hundred essays, alphabetically arranged, on approximately four hundred individuals, concepts, periods, theories, issues, and movements in the history of aesthetics. Each entry includes a bibliography for further reading.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and the Arts
Covers the cultural history of biblical texts, themes, characters, images, and the Bible itself in the literary, visual, and musical arts.
Covers the cultural history of biblical texts, themes, characters, images, and the Bible itself in the literary, visual, and musical arts.
Art Images for College Teaching (AICT)
Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) is a royalty-free image exchange resource for the educational community.
Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) is a royalty-free image exchange resource for the educational community.
Art Institute of Chicago Collection
Freely available images of artwork in the Art Institute of Chicago's collection. Also available through this interface are books, writings, reference materials, and other resources.
Freely available images of artwork in the Art Institute of Chicago's collection. Also available through this interface are books, writings, reference materials, and other resources.
Getty Digital Collections
Provides access to digitized images and books on art subjects held by the Getty Research Institute.
Provides access to digitized images and books on art subjects held by the Getty Research Institute.
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs
The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division of the Library of Congress include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division of the Library of Congress include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
The Metropolitan Museum of Art has made available about 400,000 digital images of items in their collections. Browse by Artist/Maker/Culture, Object Type/Material, Geographic Location, Date/Era, or Department, or search for images. Images with "OASC" below them are free to download.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art has made available about 400,000 digital images of items in their collections. Browse by Artist/Maker/Culture, Object Type/Material, Geographic Location, Date/Era, or Department, or search for images. Images with "OASC" below them are free to download.
New York Public Library (NYPL) Digital Gallery
NYPL's Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
NYPL's Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Public Art Archive
Free online resource about public artworks and art intended to be readily viewed by the public. It offers standardized and highly rigorous metadata structures, controlled taxonomies, advanced mapping features, and sophisticated search and filter tools.
Free online resource about public artworks and art intended to be readily viewed by the public. It offers standardized and highly rigorous metadata structures, controlled taxonomies, advanced mapping features, and sophisticated search and filter tools.
Saskia Art Images
The Saskia digital archive collection contains 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, including images from many important collections: the Prado, the Kunsthistorisches Museum, the Uffizi, and the Louvre as well as archaeological sites in Greece, Italy, Turkey and Egypt. The images can be displayed and downloaded in high-resolution format.
The Saskia digital archive collection contains 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, including images from many important collections: the Prado, the Kunsthistorisches Museum, the Uffizi, and the Louvre as well as archaeological sites in Greece, Italy, Turkey and Egypt. The images can be displayed and downloaded in high-resolution format.
Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of Western (European) fine arts of the Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Realism, and Impressionism periods (1000-1900), currently containing over 31,800 reproductions. It is intended to be a free resource of art history primarily for students and teachers.
The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of Western (European) fine arts of the Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism, Realism, and Impressionism periods (1000-1900), currently containing over 31,800 reproductions. It is intended to be a free resource of art history primarily for students and teachers.
Yale University Art Gallery
Thousands of images of works in the Gallery’s collection believed to be in the public domain are available for free download through the Gallery’s website. To download open-access images, simply click the “download” link beneath the display image in the individual object record.
Also available for searching is the Yale Center for British Art.
Thousands of images of works in the Gallery’s collection believed to be in the public domain are available for free download through the Gallery’s website. To download open-access images, simply click the “download” link beneath the display image in the individual object record.
Also available for searching is the Yale Center for British Art.
Getty Publications Virtual Library
These publications, the earliest of which dates from 1966, span the Getty’s rich publishing history, and include collection catalogues that highlight masterpieces from Getty collections, translations of groundbreaking texts on the visual arts, essential works of art historical research, exhibition catalogues, journals, and publications that serve as key resources in the conservation of the world’s cultural heritage.
These publications, the earliest of which dates from 1966, span the Getty’s rich publishing history, and include collection catalogues that highlight masterpieces from Getty collections, translations of groundbreaking texts on the visual arts, essential works of art historical research, exhibition catalogues, journals, and publications that serve as key resources in the conservation of the world’s cultural heritage.