Call 708-293-4925
Email library@trnty.edu
or Make an appointment
Library homepage
Open Access (OA): Free online resources without cost or access barriers, like articles and textbooks from organizations such as MIT OpenCourseWare and Khan Academy.
Open Educational Resources (OER): Free-to-use and repurpose teaching and research materials, including textbooks from OpenStax and resources from LibreTexts.
ATLA Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS 
Index and full text of biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
Index and full text of biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
eBook Diversity & Ethnic Studies
This groundbreaking collection includes thousands of high-quality e-books assessed by EBSCO Collection Development Librarians on the topic of diversity, equity, and inclusion. Subscribe today and get top titles from more than 230 publishers including Choice Outstanding Academic Titles (OAT) and DRM-free selections.
This groundbreaking collection includes thousands of high-quality e-books assessed by EBSCO Collection Development Librarians on the topic of diversity, equity, and inclusion. Subscribe today and get top titles from more than 230 publishers including Choice Outstanding Academic Titles (OAT) and DRM-free selections.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. And you can connect to the library for full text links to show up right there in Google!
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. And you can connect to the library for full text links to show up right there in Google!
JSTOR
An electronic repository of full-text journals in a variety of disciplines, JSTOR includes the full text of journals starting from the origin of their publication, but often does not have the most recent 2-5 years.
An electronic repository of full-text journals in a variety of disciplines, JSTOR includes the full text of journals starting from the origin of their publication, but often does not have the most recent 2-5 years.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential full-text database for theology and philosophy research. It includes hundreds of full-text journals and magazines covering many religious and philosophical topics, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy and philosophy of language.
Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential full-text database for theology and philosophy research. It includes hundreds of full-text journals and magazines covering many religious and philosophical topics, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy and philosophy of language.
Academic Search Complete
Index and full text of magazines, newspapers, reports, conference proceedings, and scholarly journals in a wide variety of disciplines.
Index and full text of magazines, newspapers, reports, conference proceedings, and scholarly journals in a wide variety of disciplines.
Open Access Digital Theological Library
Collects fully open access religious studies resources, primarily books and articles, that are ecumenical, global, and interreligious across a broad range of theological and confessional perspectives.
Collects fully open access religious studies resources, primarily books and articles, that are ecumenical, global, and interreligious across a broad range of theological and confessional perspectives.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present.
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present.
Anchor Bible Dictionary
Print Location: REF BS440 .A54 1992
This six-volume encyclopedic dictionary provides comprehensive information on biblical subjects and scholarship. Each entry is written by a renowned biblical scholar and includes a bibliography for further reading.
Print Location: REF BS440 .A54 1992
This six-volume encyclopedic dictionary provides comprehensive information on biblical subjects and scholarship. Each entry is written by a renowned biblical scholar and includes a bibliography for further reading.
Credo Reference 
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text general and subject-specific reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible
Print Location: REF BS440 .N443 2006
This dictionary is the definitive starting point for research on any topic, place or person in the Bible, with emphasis on the crucial theological concepts. Written by 900 scholars, experts in their fields, from 40 nations and a variety of perspectives.
Print Location: REF BS440 .N443 2006
This dictionary is the definitive starting point for research on any topic, place or person in the Bible, with emphasis on the crucial theological concepts. Written by 900 scholars, experts in their fields, from 40 nations and a variety of perspectives.
Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament
Print Location: BS440 .B5713
Presents in-depth discussions of the key Hebrew and Aramaic words in the Old Testament.
Print Location: BS440 .B5713
Presents in-depth discussions of the key Hebrew and Aramaic words in the Old Testament.
Theological Dictionary of the New Testament
Print Location: PA881 .K513
This ten-volume theological dictionary includes long, detailed entries on Greek New Testament words arranged in Greek alphabetical order. Full contextual quotes are given in the original Greek, Latin, or Hebrew.
Print Location: PA881 .K513
This ten-volume theological dictionary includes long, detailed entries on Greek New Testament words arranged in Greek alphabetical order. Full contextual quotes are given in the original Greek, Latin, or Hebrew.
Encyclopedia of Christian Theology
Print Location: REF BR95 .D5313 2005
This three-volume encyclopedia set covers a wide variety of topics in Christian theology, including different time periods and theological traditions. Articles tend to be several pages long and include bibliographies for further reading.
Print Location: REF BR95 .D5313 2005
This three-volume encyclopedia set covers a wide variety of topics in Christian theology, including different time periods and theological traditions. Articles tend to be several pages long and include bibliographies for further reading.
Encyclopedia of Christianity
Print Location: REF BR95 .E8913 1999
This five-volume encyclopedia set covers all aspects of the Christian faith. Entries include bibliographies for further reading.
Print Location: REF BR95 .E8913 1999
This five-volume encyclopedia set covers all aspects of the Christian faith. Entries include bibliographies for further reading.
Encyclopedia of Protestantism
Print Location: REF BX4811.3 .E53 2004
This four-volume encyclopedia set covers protestant history, theology, culture, and creeds. It includes over 1,000 entries that have been written by experts in the field and include bibliographies for further reading.
Print Location: REF BX4811.3 .E53 2004
This four-volume encyclopedia set covers protestant history, theology, culture, and creeds. It includes over 1,000 entries that have been written by experts in the field and include bibliographies for further reading.
Encyclopedia of Religion
Print Location: REF BL31 .E46 2005
Covers religion as a whole, including both overviews of major religious traditions as well as examination of individual aspects of those traditions. Themes common to several religious traditions, such as prayer, are discussed in their universal qualities as well as their specific incarnations. Each entry is written by a world-renowned religious scholar and includes a bibliography for further reading.
Print Location: REF BL31 .E46 2005
Covers religion as a whole, including both overviews of major religious traditions as well as examination of individual aspects of those traditions. Themes common to several religious traditions, such as prayer, are discussed in their universal qualities as well as their specific incarnations. Each entry is written by a world-renowned religious scholar and includes a bibliography for further reading.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical Interpretation
Provides detailed, comprehensive treatments of the latest approaches to, and methods for, interpretation of the Bible.
Provides detailed, comprehensive treatments of the latest approaches to, and methods for, interpretation of the Bible.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Ethics
Explores the intersection between biblical sources and ethical issues, both historical and modern, through overviews of everything from ethics in books of the Bible to modern movements and hot-button issues, such as capital punishment, bioethics, and abortion.
Explores the intersection between biblical sources and ethical issues, both historical and modern, through overviews of everything from ethics in books of the Bible to modern movements and hot-button issues, such as capital punishment, bioethics, and abortion.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible
Books of the Bible provides a single source for authoritative reference overviews of scholarship on some of the most important topics of study in the field of biblical studies. The Encyclopedia contains almost 120 in-depth entries, ranging in length from 500 to 10,000 words, on each of the canonical books of the Bible, major apocryphal books of the New and Old Testaments, important noncanonical texts, and thematic essays on topics such as canonicity, textual criticism, and translation.
Books of the Bible provides a single source for authoritative reference overviews of scholarship on some of the most important topics of study in the field of biblical studies. The Encyclopedia contains almost 120 in-depth entries, ranging in length from 500 to 10,000 words, on each of the canonical books of the Bible, major apocryphal books of the New and Old Testaments, important noncanonical texts, and thematic essays on topics such as canonicity, textual criticism, and translation.
ARDA: Association of Religion Data Archives
"The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion."
"The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion."
Pew Research Center: Religion & Public Life
Seeks to promote a deeper understanding of issues at the intersection of religion and public affairs. The project conducts surveys, demographic studies and other social science research to examine a wide range of issues concerning religion and society in the United States and around the world – from shifting religious composition to the influence of religion on politics to the extent of government and social restrictions on religion. The project also covers a range of issues that often have a religious component – from abortion and gay marriage to stem cell research and church-state controversies.
Seeks to promote a deeper understanding of issues at the intersection of religion and public affairs. The project conducts surveys, demographic studies and other social science research to examine a wide range of issues concerning religion and society in the United States and around the world – from shifting religious composition to the influence of religion on politics to the extent of government and social restrictions on religion. The project also covers a range of issues that often have a religious component – from abortion and gay marriage to stem cell research and church-state controversies.
Calvinism Resources Database
An electronic bibliography of resources on John Calvin and Calvinism. This database is maintained by the Hekman Library at Calvin College.
An electronic bibliography of resources on John Calvin and Calvinism. This database is maintained by the Hekman Library at Calvin College.
CRC Periodical Index
Indexes publications of interest to Reformed Christians, including several published by the Christian Reformed Church.
Indexes publications of interest to Reformed Christians, including several published by the Christian Reformed Church.
Virtual Theological Library
The Virtual Library contains bibliographic records to open access theological resources and is organized by format, covering ebooks, Bible commentaries, open access journals, and research websites
The Virtual Library contains bibliographic records to open access theological resources and is organized by format, covering ebooks, Bible commentaries, open access journals, and research websites